National Cancer InstituteU.S. National Institutes of Healthwww.cancer.gov
Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities, Special Populations Network (SPN) logo

SPN Project Listing

The Special Populations Networks (SPN) consisted of 18 funded grants in 15 states across the United States. All grants and related program activities are complete and have achieved considerable success, generating more than 110 peer-reviewed publications and leveraging over $20.5 million for health disparities research and cancer awareness and control activities.

Principal Investigator Project Title Population Served
Claudia Baquet, M.D.
email:
cbaquet@som.umaryland.edu
Maryland Special Populations Cancer Network African American
Moon S. Chen, Jr., Ph.D., M.P.H
email:
moon.chen@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu
Asian American Network for Cancer Awareness Research and Training (AANCART) Asian
Clayton Chong, M.D.
email:
imihale@papaolalokahi.org
'Imi Hale, the Native Hawaiian Cancer Research and Training Network Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander
Estevan Flores, Ph.D.
email:
eflores@carbon.cudenver.edu
Greater Denver Latino Cancer Prevention/Control Network Hispanic
Francesca Gany, M.D.
email:
fg12@nyu.edu
Cancer Awareness Network for Immigrant Minority Populations (CANIMP) Underserved
Ronda Henry-Tillman, M.D.
email:
henryrondas@uams.edu
Arkansas Special Populations Access Network (ASPAN) Underserved
F. Allan Hubbell, M.D.
email:
fahubbel@uci.edu
Pacific Islander Cancer Control Network (PICCN) Samoan/Pacific Islander
Elmer E. Huerta, M.D., M.P.H.
email:
elmer.e.huerta@medstar.net
Latin American Cancer Research Coalition (LACRC) Hispanic
Judith S. Kaur, M.D.
email:
kaur.judith@mayo.edu
The Network for Cancer Control Research Among American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) Populations Native American/Alaska Native
Michael Lobell, M.D.
email:
mlobell@azcc.arizona.edu
American Indian Initiative in Arizona American Indian
Grace Ma, Ph.D.
email:
grace.ma@temple.edu
Asian Tobacco Education and Cancer Awareness Research Initiative (ATECAR) Asian
Edith Mitchell, M.D.
email:
edith.mitchell@mail.tju.edu
Special Populations Network for Cancer Control (SPNCC) Underserved
Ronald E. Myers, Ph.D.
email:
ron.myers@mail.tju.edu
Increasing Access to Clinical and Educational Studies (ACES) African American
Edward E. Partridge, M.D.
email:
pakers@uabnc.edu
Deep South Network for Cancer Control African American
Amelie G. Ramirez, Dr. P.H.
email:
aramirez@bcm.tmc.edu
Redes En Acción Hispanics
William H. Redd, Ph.D.
email:
william.redd@mssm.edu
East Harlem Partnership for Cancer Awareness Underserved
David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D.,
email:
debra@msm.edu
National Black Leadership-Cancer Control, Research & Training Network (NBL-CCRTN) African American
Stephen Wyatt, D.M.D.
email:
swyatt@kcp.uky.edu
Appalachia Cancer Network (ACN) Underserved
Updated: 07/23/09